About Us

Our Mission Statement

Tongham Netball Club encourages players to further their netball development in order to achieve their highest possible level of play, by having close links with Hampshire Netball and the Regional League.

We aim to create an enjoyable, safe and professional environment for all standards of players. We will support and encourage players, coaches and officials through professional development and welcome members and their friends and families to social events and matches.

Our History

Kay Morrison, a local resident, founded Tongham Netball club as she felt there was a need for a club in the village for the local youth. They first played on the court at Tongham Junior School but this was not full sized and so they raised money to provide a tarmac facility. With this money and a grant from the council a court was built on Tongham recreation ground and a tournament was held there every summer.

Original club members Maggie Smith, Val Cooper and Jan Thompson are still with the club today and remember when the only way to get a match was to catch a bus, hitch hike or, in later years, cram all seven players into Maggie's car!

Sadly Kay has now passed away, but she would be proud of the success the club has achieved. In 2014 we celebrated our 50th anniversary. Over the years the club has been involved in many memorable events: winning and running up at the National Clubs event at Wembley many times, having members play netball at National, Regional and County sides on a regulate basis and in 2007 we secured a place in the National Premier League.

We are proud of our success and are determined to carry on building on it whilst running a club that welcomes players of all levels.

Our Committee

We couldn't run without our committee, see who does what below.

Chair- Hannah Meager

Vice Chair- Margaret Mann

Treasurer- Rachel Mann

Assistant Treasurer- Stacie Finn

Lead Coach- Katie Mawer

Wavell Coach- Emma Jenkins

Junior Coach- Lisa Vallely

Assistant Junior Coach- Hannah Meager

Minutes Secretary- Michelle Armstrong Harris

CAPs Co-ordinator- Margaret Mann

Club Volunteer Co-ordinator- Jan Thompson and Hannah Meager

Safeguarding Lead- Rachel Mann

First Aid- Rachel Mann

League Administrator- Margaret Mann

Umpire Secretary- Rachel Mann

Social Secretary- Jan Thompson, Katy Bovington and Olivia Chambers

Website/Publicity- Alix Gould

Junior Rep- Tallie Meager

Share by: